What to do in Paris

Well hello you guys, long time no see right?

I know it is really really bad, I didn’t post anything in like 6 weeks, I guess? But I do have a good reason for that, because I went to Paris for a couple of days and after that I was so tired that I just laid down on my bed and watched Netflix for the last two days of spring break I had left, so that meant the first day of school was right around the corner and I had to work very hard on my home work.

But I do have some pretty great news, I wasn’t only working on my home work, but also on a YOUTUBE CHANNEL!! Isn’t that awesome? I posted my first video a few days ago, and I’m really sorry for the people who aren’t Dutch because I decided to make my videos in Dutch. But of course, I keep blogging in English, because that’s way more fun, isn’t it?

So I went to Paris and of course I wanted to make a post about it, and I’m not only telling you what I have done in Paris, but I will also give you some tips where you should go or what you should do when you’re in Paris. I’m not a local, so I did go to some pretty touristic places, but I also visited places that are less touristic and super fun!

So let’s get started!

I went to Paris by car, and I think it was a five hours drive

DAY ONE

We arrived at our Hotel at around 16:00. We decided we would go discover that area the first day. So we walked pretty long and had dinner in a very nice, but touristic restaurant. After that we walked some more and visited the Notre Dame, we didn’t actually go inside but we just took some pictures of it on the outside. I would definitely recommend visiting the Notre dame because the area is very nice and pretty and there are a lot of street artists around, like roller skaters, which I think was nice.

IMG_4579 IMG_4568 IMG_4570

DAY TWO

So on day two we went to Centre Pompidou, Centre Pompidou is a very famous museum, because the building is very high and on top of it you have a great view. When we got there (10:00 in the morning) the museum was still closed, it would open at 11:00. That meant we had to wait one more hour and in that time I did some shopping in shopping centre les Halles. In les Halles there is a forever 21, H&M, Sephora, Kiko, New Look and much more famous shops. I wouldn’t recommend going there right now because they are rebuilding, so it is kind of a mess right now. But it seems like it’ll become a very pretty shopping centre again, so in a year time It’s worth visiting I think! So when we were done shopping we went to Centre Pompidou and visited le Corbusier exhibition (a famous architect), which was very interesting. We also took some pictures on top of Le Centre Pompidou.

After we visited Le Centre Pompidou we ate some pizza next to a fountain with al kind of moving, colorful objects in it.

IMG_5352 IMG_5263

After we finished our pizza we went to Le Sacré-Coeur which was beautiful, The air was clear and we had an amazing view over the city. The Sacré-Coeur is a beautiful building and I love it!

As you might know, the Sacré-Coeur is pretty close to Montmartre (A place with a lot of artists who want to draw you), and I really wanted to go to Montmartre. It’s amazing to see all those artists making drawings. I didn’t let an artist make a drawing of me because it is quite expensive and I don’t really like those drawings because they’re caricatures, I prefer realistic drawings. But I did love to see all those artists working on their drawings.

After we visited Montmartre we walked really long to eat something at a restaurant named Bouillon Chartier. It’s a very popular restaurant where not only tourists, but also locals eat. It’s not very expensive and the food is delicious.

IMG_5391IMG_5387IMG_4593

DAY THREE

This was our last whole day in Paris, first we had breakfast at the Hotel and after that it was finally time to visit the Eiffel tower, well more touristic than that isn’t possible right? 😉

We decided, after seeing the big row in front of it, not to go on the Eiffel Tower. It was really crowded and if we really wanted to be up there we had to wait for hours. We decided it wasn’t worth the wait because we wanted to see so much other parts of the city! So much to do and so little time ;(

But of course we did take some beautiful pictures of the Eiffel Tower!

IMG_5466 IMG_5447IMG_5471

Later that day we went to les Champs Elysees and there we also visited le Arc de Triompf. On the Champs Elysees where some street dancers, they were real entertainers and I loved their show! There are a lot of beautiful stores on les Champs Elysees but it’s really expensive. I went to Abercrombie and Fitch and it was by far the most beautiful store I’ve ever seen so if you’re in Paris you should really visit it! We had lunch in a very expensive street with super expensive restaurants and people walking around with expensive bags and clothes like it’s nothing. We on the other hand ate in a restaurant with normal prices and it was a very cool concept because you didn’t have the choice between thousands of dishes. Everyone in the whole restaurant ate steak with the same salad as everyone else had. And when you finished your meal they came with a second round! it was just like you were eating at your grandma’s and when you were done eating she put some more food on your plate. The food was so good! And while you were eating tons of expensive cars came by. It was so weird and cool at the same time!

So when we were done eating we visited the Louvre museum, we didn’t actually go in there but we took some awesome pictures and took some rest at some seats next to a beautiful fountain.

IMG_5634IMG_4629 IMG_5548

DAY FOUR 

Well this was our last day in Paris and we checked out of the hotel and took our own car instead of the metro (which we did all the other days)  and drove to La Défense, a district with a lot of new buildings. They also build a new Arc de Triompf here which is in a straight line with the old Arc de Triompf. After that we drove home and I was very tired, and when I say tired I mean very, very tired!

My list of tips:

  1. spend at least two or three days in Paris because there is so much to see
  2. wear some good shoes because even though you take the metro, you have to walk very long and often.
  3. Think about how many times you want to take the metro and buy all the tickets at once, so you can easily go and you don’t have to buy a ticket every single time
  4. don’t immediately throw your metro ticket away because you can use it for an whole hour!
  5. Don’t look at people who try to sell things on the streets, because when they catch you looking at them, they immediately come to you and ask if you want to buy something, and after a few time it is getting really annoying.
  6. eat something at Bouillon Chartier http://www.bouillon-chartier.com/en/
  7. Go to the Abercrombie and Fitch on les Champs Elysees
  8. eat something at Le Relais de l’entrecote http://www.relaisentrecote.fr/
  9. don’t spend to much money on a hotel because you’ll probably only be there to sleep and to have some breakfast
  10. And last but not least, take lots and lots of pictures and have fun!!

I hope you enjoyed this post, I had a lovely time in Paris and I enjoyed every minute of it!

If you want to see a video I made in Paris watch it at(you can also watch this video when you aren’t Dutch): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGrckkNJ3Rg&feature=youtu.be

If you want to see what I bought in Paris watch it at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fB1axpFA-kI

These weeks I will be very busy with school so there won’t be a new post for a while, I’m sorry, but in a month I’ll have my summer break and then I’ll make a new post for you!

Stay tuned and get styled by me,

Sophie

6 thoughts on “What to do in Paris

  1. Hey Sophie,
    Okay I’m gonna do this in English, even though we’re both Dutch.
    So, August last year I went to Paris too. I stayed at an apartment and I have done pretty much the same things.
    I’ve been in Paris for like a week or so and I spent two days in Disneyland and 3 days in Paris itself I guess, maybe 4 days. But yeah I must say that Paris is very very nice.
    What I did not know is that you can use a metro ticket for an hour.. It would have been very handy then..
    Well yeah,
    very nice post, hope you enjoyed Paris 🙂

    You’re beautiful.
    x Emma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yeah I know it’s great to live very close to cities like Berlin, Paris, Amsterdam (also pretty close to Londen actually but I haven’t visited it yet) Where do you come from? Have you ever visited Europe? xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

