Adventure on beautiful Corsica

I can honestly say that Corsica is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been!

So for all those people who have a serious case of wanderlust outthere, this is why you must go to Corsica:


Here’s some information about Corsica: it is an island in the Mediterranean Sea belonging to France, it is located north of the Italian island Sardinia.

Of course you can go to Corsica by plane but we decided to go by boat, which I can highly recommend! (unless you’re afraid getting seasick of course 😉 )

From Savona (Italy) to Bastia (Corsica) is a 6 hour boat trip, that may sound very long, which it is, but it’s absolutely amazing! Seeing the sun go down into the ocean is wonderful! There is even a pool on board so you can swim on a boat in the middle of the ocean, isn’t that awesome?!

IMG_6639IMG_5951 IMG_5965

We arrived around 22:00 in Bastia. I can recommend to book a hotel in Bastia for the night you arrive, because it’s probably to late and to dark to drive on the small roads in the mountains to the place where you actually want to stay.

The next day we woke up early to drive to Calvi, a beautiful little city in the north-west of Corsica. In our hotel in Bastia we had a beautiful ocean view. So we saw the sun rise in the morning on our balcony, which was stunning! IMG_6001

Calvi

We had a campsite near the beach in Calvi. Calvi has a bay with a lot of tourists and a lot of water sports, like windsurfing, jet skiing and boats. From our campsite it was a 5 minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the centre of Calvi.  We thought that part of the bay was very crowded so we often drove to a part of the bay where it wasn’t so full of people. I really like SUPboarding/surfing so that was what I did during my time on the beach!

IMG_7058IMG_7027IMG_7254

About the centre of Calvi

Calvi is a very touristic city with a lot of restaurants. If you have the intention to shop I wouldn’t go to Calvi because I didn’t really like the shops because they’re very touristic. When you’re in Calvi you should really visit the citadel because you have a beautiful view over the city. Calvi is a lot smaller than I expected but definitely worth the visit!

IMG_7181IMG_6751IMG_7138

What to visit when in Calvi:

  • A very cute jewellery shop on the 7 Rue Georges Clemenceau (I can’t remember the name of the shop and I searched through the whole internet but I really couldn’t find it, I’m so sorry! But if you just walk through that street you’ll find it!)
  • A restaurant named A Piazzetta on Boulevard Wilson  (A restaurant recommend by the locals and delicious!)
  • IMG_6728 IMG_7264

Ile Rousse

Ile Rousse is a small town located close to Calvi, again not the best shop city but beautiful! I think I like this town even better than Calvi. It is just so pretty!

IMG_6068IMG_6888IMG_6857

Golf de Porto

If you would ask me: ”What do I really have to do when I’m on Corsica?” I would say: GO ON ADVENTURE!

Rent a car or go with your own car and make a road trip! We had read about the Golf de Porto and I really wanted to go there! We actually planned a boat trip to Scandola that day but they were all booked so we had to discover the golf de Porto ourselves and we did! Not only the Golf the Porto was beautiful so was the journey to it! We stopped the car a few times to take pictures of the beautiful view or because there were cows on the road.

IMG_6187 IMG_6203IMG_6926

We did some snorkelling and SUPboarding and discovered another bay, it was the best day ever!

Things to do in the Golf de Porto:

  • Go snorkelling
  • Rent a Canoe and discover the bay
  • Go on a boat trip to Scandola (unfortunately we haven’t done this but we wanted to book a boat trip here)
  • Go on a hike to Girolata ( A village where you can only come by boat or by a 2 hour long hike)

IMG_6195IMG_7196IMG_7236

Bastia

IMG_7399IMG_7373IMG_7387

The last day we went back to Bastia and visited the city. Bastia has beautiful buildings, squares and a beautiful port.

We had dinner in on a very nice square with live music! There was an amazing vibe and the best way of celebrating the last night on Corsica. The restaurant where we ate is called ‘Le Flore’ and the food was very good!

IMG_7327 IMG_7406 IMG_7415

Last year I also went to Corsica and visited an other part of the island, in this list below you see which places you really have to visit.

All the places you have to visit:

  • Bastia
  • Calvi
  • Ile Rousse
  • Golf de Porto
  • Ajaccio (good for some shopping!)
  • Bonifacio (beautiful but touristic)
  • Palombaggia (one of the most beautiful beaches on Corsica)
  • Porto Vechio
  • Sartène
  • Corte

I had the best holiday ever and on the boat trip back to Italy we even saw dolphins! That was really special for me, I already miss this beautiful island and I wish I could go back!

Have you ever visited Corsica or do you want to visit it? let me know!

Do you want to read more about my travel adventures? 

Click here to read about Paris

Click here to read about Amsterdam

traveling

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and I hope my tips are useful!

Stay tuned and get styled by me,

Sophie

Leave a Reply

